Classroom Happenings 2.1

I can’t believe it is February!  I am excited to wrap up the percent part of ratios and proportions this week and head into Geometry!  I think we have some cool stuff going on this week I thought I would share!

Weekly Math Coversheet 2.1

I don’t think I have paid enough attention to the generating equivalent expressions piece when it comes to percents and was determined to get it worked in better this year.  Those games you used to play in elementary school when you come up with as many words as you can from a given word and thought it would be a great way to kick that off.  You can find the worksheet I made here!  Equivalent Percent Expressions

Other things going on this week are the Mathalicious lesson Biggest Loser.  Please note this is the one Mathalcious lesson that I don’t use the teacher or student guide for.  I focus strictly on the percent of change and why that is a better measure for selecting the winner than pounds lost.

I will follow that up with this great Illustrative Math task.

By the end of the week we will have some review stations set up as well but I haven’t gotten those quite figured out yet but will post when and if I do!

Stay tuned for some great Algebra I stuff from my friend Jill as well!  What are you doing this week?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

