7th Grade Common Core Taboo Cards

One of our MDC PD days last year included a math vocabulary taboo game that was really fun. I printed the cards out to play with my 7th graders but found myself removing lots of the cards that were high school vocabulary based and that my students didn’t know yet. I developed these cards by 7th grade Common Core Unit with the thought that I would print each unit on a different color paper so I could quickly identify what unit the vocab came from. If you can use these in your class please do! We always have days were we have assemblies and come back to class with five minutes left and need an activity or the power is out and we need a back up activity or we got done with a test early and need an activity so I am hopeful these will help make good use of that time.

Also, after you have made taboo cards for rate, unit rate, constant rate, proportionality, etc the taboo words begin to run together so if you have a suggestion to make one of the cards better please let me know!

Expressions and Equations Taboo

Geometry Taboo

Number System Taboo

Ratios and Proportions Taboo

Stats & Prob Taboo 

3 thoughts on “7th Grade Common Core Taboo Cards

  1. No, a lot of the words on these cards are words that we learn during 7th grade. The cards I was referring to removing were things like tangent and cosine words and content that we don’t cover in 7th grade math. Hope that make sense!

Leave a Reply

